Food for the Week

I don’t want the blog to be all about food, but I do want to be transparent about how we eat for so little money. So those that are inspired by it can follow along. I went shopping today, bought most everything at Aldi and some organic milk and cream from Food Fantasies for a total of57.55. Adding in the $10 for lunch and tip I spent yesterday, I’m at $169.76 so far.

Dinners this week will be:

Monday-Cheese ravioli and Orange Sunshine (kids call it Orange Glop)

Tuesday-Macaroni and cheese, Mushroom risotto, steamed broccoli

Wednesday-kids with their dad, I will eat leftovers.

Thursday-Spaghetti and Meatballs, steamed green beans

Friday-Egg drop soup made w/ Ramen noodles, frozen mixed vegetables

Saturday-Pizza

Breakfasts are: oatmeal, peanut butter, sugary breakfast cereals, coffee, fruit, yogurt, leftovers. Really whatever strikes our fancy.

Lunches for me and the lunch packer are: turkey or cheese sandwiches, leftovers, handful of nuts and fruit, carrot sticks, celery sticks w/ humus dip, protein bar, peanut butter crackers, yogurt.

Stuff I precooked today, as I will be working late Monday: Cheese ravioli, mushroom risotto, Orange Sunshine. The meatballs are purchased formed and frozen, as is the cheese ravioli. The spaghetti sauce is in a jar, the macaroni in a box. Other foods cooked from scratch.

Lunch today was steamed fresh spinach with sautéed mushrooms, sprinkled with grated cheese. I don’t usually fix this dish when the kids are here. I’ll let you puzzle out why.

Leave a Reply

