Food for the Rest of the Month

I went grocer shopping today, and except for a couple of things I forgot, bought food for the rest of the month. Today I spent $66.76, which brings the grocery totals for the month so far to $278.81 and after a couple sodas and a latte out this past week, the eat out total is $53.64. That is $332.45 so far, well below my $420/month goal. Also, I did not pull out of the grocery totals the cost of paper napkins and dish scrubbers, which food stamps would not pay for. For the visually inclined, here is what the refrigerator looked like before the shopping trip:

A mostly empty refrigerator

 And here is the “pantry.” Remember, during the kitchen remodel all this stuff is on a folding table in the dining room.

The pantry

 

Inside the pantry box:

Oil, spaghetti, tomato sauce

 

And here is the food bought today:

Food for the week

The menus:

Monday: Chicken and rice, cranberry orange relish and cherry pie

Tuesday: Pork loin, mushroom risotto and steamed broccoli

Wednesday: kids w/ their dad. I will eat leftovers.

Thursday: Tacos, store-bought cookies

Friday: leftovers

Saturday: lunch-grilled cheese and fruit, dinner-Egg Drop Soup version 2.0

Sunday: lunch-leftovers or sandwiches, dinner-home made pizza

Monday: spaghetti and meatballs, steamed green beans

2 responses to “Food for the Rest of the Month

  1. That is truely amazing! It seems planning is key.
    While I am not a single mom….I find your hints helpful for us in the general population!!
    My goal for the new year is much more scaled back….but a goal nonetheless. I want to have less waste (I CRINGE everytime I have to throw something out that has gone bad!). The first of the year…I went thru all cuboards and took inventory. We then made loose meal plans to use up what we had on hand. That week; our grocery list was mainly fresh items and meats. We have kept this up pretty well thus far.
    I’m thinking if my kitchen looked like yours; it would be MUCH easier to have less waste!! Ahh aspirations!!

  2. Yeah, planning is key. Whether you like a well stocked freezer and pantry, or eat it all up each week like us, planning is the key to no waste. Like you, I HATE throwing food out….feels like buring dollar bills to me.
    By the way, my meal plans are pretty loose too, and I usually have some boxed macaroni and cheese dinners for those crunch nights when work goes long and there are evening activities. When really pressed, I can have dinner on the table in 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

