The Rest of My Life

Recently, a friend asked me what I want to spend the rest of my life accomplishing. Here is my answer:

I have 2 answers and they split at about 5-6 years in the future. Between now and the time my youngest graduates from high school I will be completing a life mission goal of raising to adulthood four children who are emotionally whole, who have a strong sense of their own gifts and so can hit the ground running as adults and be a blessing to the world. I pray they not have to spend years of their adulthood recovering from emotional wounds inflicted in childhood. Each of them is amazing and it is a delight to me to see them developing.

 I have poured my time and talents into this task and it is damn exciting watching it come to pass.

 After that, I’m not sure. My life has had a strong thread of serendipity in it, and I trust that the next thing will appear on the horizon as this one winds down.

 Right now, I envision the next phase of my life to look like this:

1) Reduced work hours. My financial needs are relatively small after I have the kid’s college paid for. If I didn’t want to travel some, I could retire at 61 easily.

2) I suspect I will sell this house and find something much, much smaller. An efficiency apartment in the Hilton Hotel here in town, one of the tiny houses made by Eric Schaffer http://www.tumbleweedhouses.com/houses/, or my latest fantasy, a houseboat.

3) Service of some kind. Could be Hospice work, or babysitting my grandkids, or Physicians Without Borders. Service is what makes my heart happy. I would be miserable playing golf and volunteering with the Junior League.

 And you? What are you willing to spend the remainder of your life accomplishing?

Leave a Reply

