Jammie Day

Because I wanted to be home with my kids as much as possible when they were little, I arranged with my employer a part-time position where I worked every other weekend, two 12 hour days, plus 15 hours of call. Then during the week, I worked two eight-hour days. This way the majority of my work hours fell when the kids were at their dad’s or in school. Things were a little tight money-wise, but the whole arrangement worked pretty well as long as I didn’t get too tired.

I have a long history of pushing myself pretty hard until I get sick or so exhausted I get depressed. I’m a slow learner sometimes, but I have learned that I have to listen to my body and give it what it needs for optimal functioning.

I had big plans for yesterday. Really, I did. I was going to transfer a bunch of documents from one computer to another, make a card for my friend who is going through a rough patch, go workout, take another picture of my empty refrigerator to show you guys before I went shopping and do the laundry.

But, when I woke up in the morning, my body was telling me I needed to take it easy. So I didn’t do any of those things except the laundry. And I napped and ate a big salad for lunch and didn’t change out of my pajamas (those of you who have read the 100 things threads: pajamas = clean work out clothes) all day. Somebody rang my doorbell about noon and I hunkered down on the couch. He put a flyer for a local mayoral candidate through the mail slot and went away. I read a book and played with the cat. I made eggs and toast for dinner and went to bed early. I didn’t speak to another human all day.

I was just what I needed.

2 responses to “Jammie Day

  1. Leslie Ann Costello

    Sounds like a perfect day especially since you took the cue from how you were feeling. I have been working on learning this particular thing for the last several years, but only since June have I pared down my responsibilities enough so that I can take time off…really off. I am starting (just starting) to understand what it will feel like to NOT be pushing and tired.

    Good for you! I like the “hunkered down on the couch” part.

  2. Love that you took care of YOU!! We ALL need to take the occasional jammie day. Sometimes even speaking to another is too much for the soul!

Leave a Reply

