Final Grocery Shop of February

I am continuing my pledge to keep our food costs to less than I calculate our family food stamp allotment would be ($420/month.) In keeping with my upping the ante post, I bought most of our dairy/meat/coffee from organic or range free sources. In the photo you can see this higher cost food grouped on the right lower corner of the table. The non-organic animal products (turkey slices and shredded cheddar cheese) are in the left lower corner.

February 26 groceries

 

Total groceries costs for the month:$341.01, total eat out costs $68.27 (oops sorry, math error–$88.27) which includes a meal out as a family and two student meals out with their respective teams and my bad habits of soda and gas station coffee. Total food costs for the month $409.28. (error correction–$429.28– though most of that food will get eaten in March… sorry.)

Menus for the week:

Saturday: Homemade pizza

Sunday: Stew and biscuits

Monday: Spagetti and meatballs, steamed brocolli (switched from Sat. as this is a faster meal. I try to keep the slow cooking items to weekends)

Tuesday: Fiesta Biscuit Casserole (new recipe I got from Cozi calendar)

Wednesday: Kids w/ their dad. I will eat leftovers.

Thursday: Leftovers for all of us.

Friday through Sunday: kids at their dad’s, I will finish off the leftovers, eat scrambled eggs or otherwise make do. I’m working, so probably won’t do much cooking.

Leave a Reply

