Creating the Life You Want

I have a friend that tells me the way that he motivates himself to action is to take on a project that is huge, like preparing to run for a marathon or creating a software project that can be marketed to every emergency room in the United States.

This technique would not work for me. I would see that big thing looming outside my bedroom and roll over and go back to sleep.

Most of us create the life we want by adjusting our habits.

“Sow an act and you reap a habit. Sow a habit and you reap a character. Sow a character and you reap a destiny. ”
Charles Reade
 
We all have habits, save babies and mystics.  It makes the day easier. That way we don’t have to think about which way to fold the towel, which brand of laundry detergent to buy, what the first thing we are going to do when we get up in the morning will be. We just do it. Which is fine as long as our habits are serving us and not us serving our habits.
 
If your life is not exactly as you want it to be right now, I challenge you to change just one of your habits. Not all of them, it’s too exhausting and you are still going to have to go to work and take care of the kids. Just one. Identify one thing in your life that you want different-you want more money, more sleep, less fat on your middle, less anxiety. You pick. Then change one habit which will move you closer to that occurring. 
 
I’ll be right behind you. The thing I want to change is the fat around my middle. The habit I am changing is: when I wake in the morning I will put on my exercise shoes rather than start the coffee pot. Starting the coffee pot leads to drinking a cup of coffee while I read e-mail and cruise the internet, and my brief window of opportunity to exercise is lost. So, I will put on my shoes and exercise and drink my coffee at work while I am reading the work e-mail there.
 
And if I don’t get to read your comments till after dinner, I’m sure you’ll understand.
 
OK. Your turn. What habit are you going to change?
 
If you are a first time poster, I have to approve your comment before it will show up, after that they post immediately.
Leave a Reply

