New Grocery Challenge

The kids are going to be gone for a week starting Monday, and I am working the weekend. My next day off work will be July 26th. I am setting myself the challenge of not buying any food, groceries or food out until July 26th. I promise the meals will be balanced and filling.

Here is my pantry that I will be working from:

Top of pantry

Bottom of pantry

~7# flour

~4.5# sugar

~2 oz vanilla

1/2 box of tapioca

3 cloves fresh garlic

1/2# powdered sugar

1/2 box of baking soda

~ 3/4# spaghetti

~ 20 tea bags

spices: salt, pepper, basil, oregano, rosemary, chili powder, cinnamon, 1 package taco seasoning, 4 cubes vegetable bouillon

1 bottle Shiraz

~ 8 oz Cocoa Rice Cereal

~ 5# russet potatoes

19 oz can lentil soup

14.5 oz can sliced beets

2 cans tomato soup

2  21 oz blueberry pie filling

1 box macaroni and cheese

15.25 oz canned corn

15.5 oz canned black beans

1 1/3 cups pink lentils

~ 5 oz white balsamic vinaigrette

14.5 oz canned diced tomatoes

2  8 oz canned tomato sauce

2   12 oz jars of fruit jam

13 oz of organic roasted red pepper vinaigrette

# ground organic coffee

~ 9 oz peanut butter

1 boxed no-bake dessert

29 ox canned peaches

~ 20 oz canola oil

In the Refrigerator:

Missing from the photo: the eggs

2 hard-boiled eggs

~16 oz OJ

~1.25 cups shredded cheese

1  1/3 sticks butter

~ 7 oz bottled lemon juice

~ 3 oz yeast

~ 4 oz coconut coffee creamer

~ 1 cup organic fat-free milk

4 yogurt

part of a watermelon, cubed

cantaloupe

about 2-3 ribs of celery, in sticks

5 tomatoes

bag of apples

~ 2/3 of a bag of carrots

In the Freezer:

Freezer food

2 Tilapia

2   8 0z boxes of frozen mixed vegetables

1 chopped onion

2 Southwest Veggie Stuffed Sandwiches

1   16 oz bottle pineapple juice

I plan of taking photos each day of what I eat, and posting the recipes when appropriate. I hope to show you that what looks like just scraps is really a feast, when seen with imagination. Plus save myself some money, too.

2 responses to “New Grocery Challenge

  1. If it can be done; my dear; YOU are the one to do it! What a challenge! I’ll be anxiously awaiting your posts!!

  2. Leslie Ann Costello

    Well, thank goodness you already have the Shiraz, that’s all I can say. And I agree with Lora….if anyone can, it is you. I have been thinking of you since Thursday when I have been trying to ruthlessly declutter. You are my inspiration! Love those empty pantry shelves.

Leave a Reply

