Day Three

First, a confession. Last night about 9pm, I was really hungry and I ate the rest of the potato soup. I may regret that later in the week. Then today, between breakfast and lunch, when my meeting let out, I was really hungry. I bought a bag of Cheese-Its from the snack machine. I don’t even think Cheese-Its are food. Like Twinkies, if single-celled organisms don’t recognize it as food, it’s probably not. But I ate them, and staved off hunger pangs till I could get to my lunch out in the car. Sooooo….

At home:

coffee and coconut creamer

 

I needed to make the lunch salad this AM, so I started at 6:15am with my version of a Southwest Black bean Salad.

Bean salad ingredients 6:15am

black beans, rinsed and drained

corn, drained and added

leftover green beans, chopped and added

I apologize that the green beans did not make it into the original inventory. They were leftover from Sunday dinner. I took the inventory prior to dinner and did not know that they would be leftover. I swear, I do not have a secret stash of food that I am pulling out as is convenient for me.

tomatoes chopped, vinaigrette ready to be added

yogurt, cantaloupe, apple, bean salad and lemonade

This is the last of the lemonade I made the other day. I tastes good, but I am not used to drinking sugary drinks and it leaves a film on my teeth. Blech.

Dinner:

Dinner at 4:29pm

Once again, I come home from work ravenous. I guess, when I buy junk-crap at work it is more calories than cooking from home. Could all the advice columnists be right? Anyway, my intent here is to cook a Thai-type dish with spaghetti noodles, garlic, lemon juice (lime would be better, but I’m working with what I have), peanut butter and chili powder.

chopped garlic, peanut butter and lemon juice microwaved 1 minute

spaghetti boiling 4:37pm

canola oil and garlic sauteing

Dinner at 4:48pm

The side is a fresh tomato, sliced and doused w/ red pepper vinaigrette.

(comment: the flavor of the noodle dish was great, but it would take some tweaking texture-wise before I would serve it to company–too gummy. I did make extra, in case the insatible hunger returns……)

 

4 responses to “Day Three

  1. Just want to say that I have loved your blog since I found it a few months ago. Your challenge, and ESPECIALLY your emptyish pantry are inspiring. I have discovered that I have a compulsion to hoard info, so as soon as I get an idea, say, to make Thai food, I quickly gather all the info I can so that in order to make the ultimate Thai food, and then get overwhelmed and don’t do anything at all. Your style of cooking is very freeing, and I hope to continue to make things simpler for myself in the kitchen.

  2. Still can’t begin to imagine how you are doing this!!!! Your indicretions are so very minor compared to the decisions I would likely make! Great job!

  3. Amy, thanks. I’m glad you are enjoying the blog. I know what you mean about overwhelmed by info. I think the reason I am so attracted to simplicity is that I feel overwhelmed without it.

    Lora- it seems that there is a part of my brain that is always thinking about food. Might as well put it to good use.

  4. I am inspired! I will try it. But I will use whole peanuts and crush them. Recently, I discovered by accident a wole new way of cooking. I just puree a cooked vegetable (for instance broccoli) with olive oil and eat it as pasta sauce with … pasta! I only add a bit of salt and peppar! It’s an easy way to use left-overs and I really like the clean taste of it.

Leave a Reply

