Day Four Pantry Challenge

Breakfast:

Yogurt, coffee, cantaloupe

This is a day off paid employment, so it is a day spent doing laundry, cooking prep for later in the week and yearly chores like washing the curtains in the basement and draining the hot water heater of sludge. But the kids are gone, so at least one nap occurred today as well. (insert big smiley face)

I decided to make drop biscuits from my mom’s recipe, but I didn’t have any baking powder. A quick Wikipedia search gave be both the chemical reasons for and possible substitutions. (Have I ever mentioned here how much I value having internet access vs. a TV?….not that you can’t have both) Anyhoo…

biscuit ingredients

The recipe calls for 1 and 1/3 cups milk [2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda,  1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 cup oil or shortening, 1 and 1/3 cups milk] but I am low on milk, and want to reserve  1/3 cup for the boxed mac ‘n cheese I will be making on Monday, so I took the milk I had

milk available

and thinned it with water.

correct volume of liquid for the recipe

The other substitution was 2 teaspoon baking soda plus 2 tablespoons lemon juice instead of the 2 teaspoons baking powder. Here are the drop biscuits on the cookie sheet:

raw dough globs

And cooked:

not my mom's biscuits, but good enough

Then I decided to work on Monday’s evening meal. I will be working that day, probably a long day, the kids will be home, so I am preparing in advance: Potatoes Au Gratin.

2 Tbsp oil, 3 Tbsp flour, pepper, potatoes, shredded cheese, bullion cube

I used all the milk on the biscuits, so am using vegetable bullion here. Usually, I would use milk in the cheese sauce, it gives the finished product a nicer color.

potatoes cooked till tender, not soft

oil and flour cooking

vegetable bullion and pepper, added shredded cheese

potatoes in casserole dish

potatoes w/ cheese sauce

Time for lunch:

OJ, tomato soup, apple, 2 biscuits w/ peanut butter and currant jelly

More food prep:

carrots, cleaned and cut

And also for Monday supper: Blueberry pie. First the crust.

crust ingredients: 1 1/4 cup flour, 8 Tbsp butter, 1/3 cup cold water

pie crust

finished product:

homemade crust and 2 cans pie filling

Whew! Time for dinner:

rest of Shiraz, tilapia and last package of froz. vegetables

Leave a Reply

