Day One

Took the four starting-to-go-bad apples, [this is a principle of living on a small food budget–you NEVER throw food away….except the infamous vegan enchilada experiments…though they were not so much food as a biological explosive device]

breakfast ingredients

oven-ready

peeled and sliced them, sprinkled with 2 packets of instant oatmeal and dotted with butter and Breakfast!

Yummy!

Of course, I supplemented mine with coffee and cream. And later a yogurt.

The usual

Lunch was quesidillas: a portion of the ham steak diced,

ham, chopped

a spot of canola oil,

1.5 teaspoons of oil

spread with my finger before the griddle got hot, a sprinkling of shredded cheddar cheese on top of a flour tortilla.

tortilla w/o top

I made two of these quesadillias for lunch.

I sliced two apples for the kids and made a romaine lettuce, tomato and cheese salad for myself. While I was doing that, I made a salad for tomorrow too.

salad

Drinks were the usual for us: water and orange juice.

lunch

Dinner: Vegan Shepard’s Pie and sliced kiwi. Snickerdoodles for dessert.

While I was dicing carrots for this recipe, I also made carrot sticks for lunches later in the week.

 

carrot sticks

 

Dinner on the table:

Shepard's Pie, kiwi and cookies

Leave a Reply

