Cost of Working + Stupid

The book Your Money or Your Life (highly, highly recommended by me) talks about the cost of working, i.e. money spent that you would not have to spend if you did not have The Job. Usually that included things like work clothes, transportation to work, meals out because you don’t have time to cook, etc.

Tomorrow, I have a very full work day and then a meeting at 5:30pm. I decided to make a lasagna this weekend that the kids could warm up Monday night, while I was at my meeting. I took some organic pork sausage and some organic ground beef out of the freezer to thaw on Friday night. Then, I got busy doing laundry, so I put it in the oven (not turned on) to keep the cats out of it while it thawed.

Then I forgot about it and went to bed, and then went to work, and then went to bed and when I remembered it at noon today, decided to throw it away when I got home. The store that sells organic meat was closed when I got off work…so I went to the regular store and bought non-organic ground beef and pork sausage.

I spent $8.09 tonight (though that is NOT the cost of the ruined meat) and am making the lasagna tonight. The ground beef came in packages of 2#, so half is saved for another meal.

SIGH.

That is the only money spent today. (I remembered my water bottle.)

Leave a Reply

