2013 Personal Count

For new readers: I count my personal items every year with the goal of owning less than 100 things. I count separately items that I share with the two teenagers still at home. Here is this year’s count: total 85 items.

Miscellaneous things: 18

DSCI0046

In the above photo you can see in the back row: brief case, shredder, coffee pot. In the middle from left to right: towel and iron, lap top with small bird figurine on top, book with cell phone and charger on top and in the front row, left to right organizer with glasses on top, watch, wallet, purse. Not in this photo are the ironing board, car, bed and laundry basket. But they are the same as last year. Astute readers will note this is a new iron and a new lap top. The old iron took a dive off the board last year with grave consequences and I bought a lap top that I do not have to share with the kids when I started writing my second book.

Clothing: 54 items

DSCI0019

This is my summer non-work days wardrobe. I bought four outfits for less than $20 at Goodwill.

DSCI0021 DSCI0023

On the left are two work outfits. The black and grey top has lasted through three summers! On the right my fourth non-work day outfit and the black dress which I’ve had for about ten years now. It’s classic. You can also see some of the ten wood hangers that I use.

DSCI0050

Here are two more work outfits. Both tops bought new at TJ Maxx and both bottoms bought at Goodwill.

DSCI0025

My footwear.

DSCI0026

Coat and sweater and scarf.

DSCI0027

Two more sweaters. I had three survive the winter, which is unusual for me. Usually the constant wear has them giving up the ghost before spring.

DSCI0029

Necklace and earrings. My daughter has dibs on the necklace when I get tired of it.

DSCI0031

Swimsuit, gloves, ear warmer/headband and the basket which holds the six pair socks, six pair panties, one pair pantyhose and four bras when they are not in use.

DSCI0032

Here is one of my exercise outfits. The other three look much the same.

DSCI0048

Here are the personal care items: 13 of them. In this photo you can see the basket that I keep the items contained in the medicine cabinet, a razor, bar of soap, grooming scissors, nail clippers, floss/toothpaste/toothbrush, face powder, foundation, mascara, lip balm, retainer/case, lotion and hair conditioner.

I’m still working on getting all my clothing to have pockets so I can ditch the purse. And there are clearly non-essential items here such as the jewelry and the bird figurine. It makes me happy to know that I have items that I could easily let go, so if I move to a houseboat or RV full time and have to count the bowl and mug as mine, it will be a smooth transition.

7 responses to “2013 Personal Count

  1. Thank you for this. I look forward to this every year. Such inspiration!!!

  2. It is perfect timing for me to see this just as I begin to clean out my closet, having rashly promised to use my apartment for a farewell party for a dear friend on 7 December. Starting with my closet, I plan to go through this apartment and strip down my belongings. I’m putting your article on my (cluttered) bookmarks bar, so I can read it once or twice a week. This is going to be hard, but you have shown me it can be done. Many thanks!

  3. I have just found your blog and I am amazed at the number of your belongings list. I have a long way to go. You and your family are an inspiration.

  4. Pingback: How Much Stuff is Enough? | Playdough at Dawn

  5. I thought I didn’t have much until I saw your toiletries. Maybe my 56 year old face requires more products (you start losing eyelashes and eyebrows which requires eyeline, mascara and eyebrow pencil). Also, you don’t seem to have any meds (I need sinus meds and headache and then there are the prescriptions). But you do inspire me to try harder to downsize the bathroom!

    • Well, as someone who has seen what pharmaceuticals can do (I forget how many deaths per year in USA due to medication)…..I avoid them as much as possible. But in the interest of full disclosure, I take a thyroid replacement daily, have since I was in my 20’s. I do not count it. I have but, I get off the medication as soon as I can, and I look for the natural or energetic healing way. That path just fits me better.

      Some people really enjoy the artistry of the make-up. If you do, there is no need to eliminate. This whole counting game is to be mindful about what we consume, not be competitive about who can have the fewest items.

Leave a Reply

