Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program-SNAP

In honor of the government decreasing the allotment for food for families on assistance this month, I am going to do a series of posts on how we will spend less than the maximum benefit for a family our size, compete with menus and recipes. For a family of three, through October 2013 the maximum benefit was $526 per month. Now it is $497.

Nov.1 We had meatballs (1/2 of bag-cost $2.30) with penne pasta (1/2 of box 0.45) and marinara sauce (0.99) served with garlic toast (1/2 baguette $0.99 +butter 0.25 + garlic 0.10) Dinner was $5.08 and there was some leftover for lunch the next day. This carb heavy meal was a special request of my cross-country runner for the night before Sectionals. (The team came in second, by the way.)

Nov. 2 Seven layer Mexican Dip ( 1 can refried beans 0.79, 1 Tbsp taco seasoning 0.17, 1 cup Greek yogurt 0.85, 1 cup salsa 0.85, 1 cup shredded lettuce 0.50, 1 cup shredded cheese 0.75, chopped green onions 0.50) which we ate with blue corn chips $1.69. Dinner total $6.10 and there was leftovers for lunch.

Nov.3 Homemade chicken pizza (yeast 0.27, flour 0.20, oil 0.05, sugar 0.05, salt 0.05, tomato sauce 0.27, italian spices 0.50, shredded cooked chicken breast 1.63, shredded mozzarella 0.99, chopped green pepper 0.33) Dinner was $4.34 and yes, there were leftovers for my lunch.

Nov.4 Pork loin (5.62) mashed potatoes (potatoes 0.50, milk  0.30, butter 0.11, salt and pepper 0.05) and steamed broccoli (0.90) Dinner $7.48. Usually, I eat the leftovers for lunch the next day, but middle son took the pork loin leftovers in his lunch.

Nov. 5 Cheese ravioli (2.29) in marinara sauce (0.99) lettuce and tomato salad (0.66 + 0.30) with balsamic dressing (0.15) Dinner $4.39. No leftovers.

Nov. 6 Kids at their dad’s, I ate one Fit & Active turkey and broccoli pocket (0.95) and some cabbage (0.38) that was left over from something that I made last week .

Nov. 7 Tilapia (fish 2.10 and spices 0.20) mashed potatoes (0.96) and steamed green beans (0.75) Dinner $4.01

Nov. 8-10, the kids were gone and I was working. I packed meals from home, including some fit and active breakfast muffins, turkey and broccoli pockets, apples, yogurt, water, coffee. I also ate some fried chicken at the office that was leftover from a party.

The kids usually drink a reconstituted orange juice container per day (1.29) and eat sugary cereals for breakfast (1.69-2.19 per box.) Middle son takes his lunch each day, peanut butter sandwich, yogurt, protein bar or fruit snack and an apple.

My breakfast is often oatmeal, Greek yogurt, a banana and coffee with cream. Snacks after school and on the weekends include: spoonfuls of peanut butter or the Aldi equivalent of Nutella, granola bars, homemade cookies.

Desserts this week (they usually last a couple nights) include apple crisp made with some apples given us for free, leftover graham crackers, butter, sugar and cinnamon. This was served with ice cream. Other nights boxed cookies were served.

Total spent on groceries between Nov. 1 and Nov. 10 is $75.09.

3 responses to “Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program-SNAP

  1. Fawn, you read my mind. Just a few days ago, I was wondering if you were still following a SNAP food budget and if you were reducing your spending to match the new reduced SNAP amounts. Well done!

  2. I learned what the food stamp amount was recently and was very surprised that my family of four easily eats on far less. I budget well, shop well, we eat quality and I make everything from scratch….I MAYBE spend $300 a month on food/toiletries for my family of four (granted my boys aren’t teenagers yet but sometimes I think they eat like them).

    • Yeah, there are many obstacles for the poor to eat well, but the amount of assistance that is given is not one of them. I, also, find it quite easy to feed my family for less money than we would qualify for if I did not have income.

Leave a Reply

