Minimalist Kitchen: Food Beliefs

FDA's Food Pyramid Implies___

Food is such a huge part of our daily lives and cultures, that it is no surprise that we have created a lot of beliefs about our food: what it means, how it should taste and be prepared, who should prepare it, what nurtures us.

Here are a couple beliefs about food that I once held and no longer do:

~ food is the enemy, it is what makes me fat.

~ desserts are a treat for when I work hard.  (You can see there is a bit of conflict between these two.)

And here are a few that I still hold:

~ food is fuel for my body.

~ foods that are fresh and less processed are healthier.

~ food can be a celebration.

For the minimalist, it is good to know what you believe, so you do not hold onto objects or beliefs that no longer serve your life.

How about you? Got any beliefs about food that you are willing to let go?

12 responses to “Minimalist Kitchen: Food Beliefs

  1. This blog is amazing! I just started reading it and I find inspiration in almost every post. This snapshot is more helpful than a whole book on the subject of food. One can tell it is a minimalist writing!

    Well, here is my take on it:

    – Food can never be a reward, but it can be a celebration.

    – A single leaf of lettuce can make you fat if it is the one you eat when you are not hungry anymore.

    – Food needs to be savored, which helps to know when enough is enough.

  2. Hi I agree Beatrice so many inspirational posts! 🙂 plus I don’t feel so alone in my thoughts and opinions now.
    Food belief no 2 is the one I found made the difference in my energy levels and stabilised my weight to a healthy level. Enjoying my clothes again. Plus money saved has been noticeable, so win win all round.

  3. I think the most important food belief for me is that unprocessed food is healthier- I’ve been cooking from scratch more over the last hare or so and feel much better for it.

  4. One of the food beliefs that I need to let go is that every meal must be delicious. Breakfast everyday doesn’t have to be a tasty breakfast sandwich with eggs and bacon and cheese. It can simply be a bowl of healthy oatmeal. It doesn’t have to taste stellar; it can just taste “fine.” I guess this goes along the lines of thinking of food as being fuel. As long as it supplies me with what I need, most meals don’t need to be the best meal of my life.

  5. I agree with you Undercover Minimalist, I can find it very relaxing to have just plain oatmeal for breakfast. Not having my tastebuds sollicitated too much can be a peaceful way to wake up.
    I think Minimalism can be understood both ways. Sometimes a meal can be about “good plain food”, it gives us time and to focus on other things that we find more important right at that moment. And some other times, it could be a celebration and be more elaborated. Both are simple ways to enjoy life.

  6. Dear Fawn, what do you add to your oatmeal besides brown sugar? I need some ideas. I’m thinking about bringing it to work and mixing it in a coffee mug like you do and then later cleaning the mug for coffee.

    • Well, it kinda depends on what there is in the kitchen. The traditional raisins or dates, shredded coconut, chopped nuts, peanut butter or almond butter. My mom makes hers with powdered milk and salt. My son and his wife make their with peanut butter and cinnamon. Oatmeal is one of those foods that you could add almost anything to, sweet or savory.

    • I always found that oatmeal “holds” me longer if there is some kind of fat and protein added. I loved adding a small blop of miso, or nut butter. A favorite little cafe in East Village NYC that I ran across a number of years ago would serve chopped fresh oranges and apples on top, and that was quite lovely too. Good quality plain rolled oats or steal cut oats, whichever, with a dash of salt can be delightful as well 🙂

  7. Thanks Fawn, I’ve never thought about adding peanut butter, powdered sugar and salt before.

  8. I’m healing my digestive track after some serious health problems, and have found incredible luxury in the most basic & simple whole foods. Only purchasing/eating foods that were 1 ingredient (i.e. Blueberries, carrots, steak) and preparing these foods in a time efficient and sensory pleasing way have all lead me further down the path of minimalism and greener living. It has forced me to connect further with the earth (because good blueberries don’t come from a factory), and forced me to see simple foods as “enough” and quite luxurious in their own right… certainly more than just fuel. I believe that nothing can be more healing or “fulfilling” than taking time to give thanks for the earth’s beautiful bounty and letting your body harmonize and connect with the realness & beauty of your meal, as simple as it may be.

  9. Oh, Rose. I, also, eat single ingredient foods. I like the simple flavors. The flavor of a homegrown tomato is exquisite and needs no embellishment.

Leave a Reply

