Minimalist Medicine Cabinet

Now that my daughter is away at school the medicine cabinet is all mine. Here is  what it looks like without her stuff.

2014-04-02 10.19.05

Top shelf: cotton swabs, Ibuprophen, retainer.

Second self: basket with floss, toothpaste, toothbrush, mascara, comb, nail clippers and grooming scissors.

Bottom shelf: body lotion, foundation.

12 responses to “Minimalist Medicine Cabinet

  1. I long for a cabinet that looks like that. Mine is not even close.

  2. I had to chuckle at the neat and minimalist medicine cabinet, with you being a nurse and the small number of items

  3. No face wash, moisturizer, makeup remover, deodorant, hair gel, brush, lip balm, cup? That’s mine plus a few drawers holding the ones I got on sale as well as face cloths, Qtips, nail polish remover, nail polish, emery board, head bands, mirror, hair remover, bandaids, meds. I guess I’m not ready for a backpack existence as yet 🙂

  4. Diane-I discovered that make-up will come off easily with moisturizer if rubbed on the face and then washed off with a cloth or towel. And once I use up the moisturizer I was given as a gift (bottom shelf) even better for my dry skin, is to rub olive or coconut oil in and then “steam” it off with a hot washcloth. When I started doing that, my skin cleared up. Deodorant is in my clothes closet. I apply it after I get dressed. No hair gel. I use the “no ‘poo” method for curly girls. Essentially, you “wash” your hair with conditioner. My wild hair behaves very well when I do that. No brush, I use a comb. Lip balm is in my brief case or pocket, depending if it is a work day. No cup, I make a cup with my hand when I am brushing my teeth. There are some bandaids in the hall closet.

    • What a great idea using oil and much cheaper since I’m using products with no parabens, etc. and they are costly. I too have curly hair but does the conditioner get it as clean as shampoo? I have yesterday’s hair gel and hairspray I need to wash out every morning.

      • What I have found is that using the conditioner doesn’t strip the natural oils off the hair and then I don’t need the gel and hairspray to make it behave (or, actually, be is lovely wild curly self.) It took about a week after I stopped using shampoo before it settled into it’s natural zen happiness. Your hair will feel oilier when you touch it. But I prefer that to the “crunch” of gel and hairspray.

    • Thanks for the tip on using olive oil or coconut oil for washing the face. In the winter the skin on my face gets so dry and I am going to start using this. I too have used the no poo method but I have a skin condition that it did not work with, but my hair was so soft.

  5. I keep trying to get down to this and was pretty pleased with myself till I saw yours LOL – ah well, onward and upward!! 😉
    However, I did declutter two shelf units to the point that I got rid of them 🙂

  6. you are really my hero! seriously I am using your blog as my inspiration as I do want to be as close as possible to where you are with your stuff….thanks so much for sharing.

  7. You truly are an inspiration Fawn! It must be so freeing to have so little. However, my “enough” point is not as low. I know that I need a little more to feel safe and comfortable. What I have found useful for medecines is to use a box (red with a white cross, about 6x6x7 inches) in my bathroom for all the medicines earplugs etc… I love to regularly check and toss away old drugs, being consciously grateful for not having had use for them more than once or twice. I have also half a shelf for miscellaneous toiletteries. For make-up, I use a little tray on a bookshelf in my bedroom near a window. The light is much better there than in my bathroom. That way it allows me to spend less time in the bathroom, so that others can use it!

Leave a Reply

