Is It Wrong To Love An Object?

2014-04-30 17.41.12

We have lived in this house for thirteen years now, longer than I have lived anyplace else. I have a lot of happy memories here: snuggling with the kids in bed on a Saturday morning, meeting the woman who would become my daughter-in-law for the first time, many family meals.

I love the Craftsman style details, the neighborhood, the central location.

This house is one of my 100 things. For now. But maybe what I feel for the house is not love, but deep affection, because I also see the house as an asset that I can sell to fund other needs and dreams.

When my daughter was having severe headaches with hearing loss and the MRI showed “brain spots” and I allowed my mind to go to a fearful place, I knew that I could sell the house and use the equity to fund time off work to care for her, if she needed surgery. [Not to worry, it turns out she was just allergic to church, or the chemicals that they used during a renovation. She still has “brain spots” but the neurosurgeon doesn’t know what they are.]

And now, when I let my dreams run free to a time when the nest is empty of children, I know that I do not want to spend my time taking care of this beautiful house that I am so fond of. I’m planning on selling it and using the money to fund a multi-year, cross-country trip.

But I do really, really like this house.

7 responses to “Is It Wrong To Love An Object?

  1. The blooming tree is so beautiful! I wish I had such a wonderful house. But you’re right, living there all alone and taking care of it… it really make no sense! I like much more the idea of a long exciting journey! And my most cherished wish when the nest is empty of children is living in a small cozy condo at the seaside, somewhere in sunny Bulgaria ))) I wish you good luck whatever your goals are! Thank you for inspiration!

  2. I love this house! But will also love and welcome you to stay with us as long as you’d like once you sell it and take your road trip! 🙂

  3. bluelightreflections

    I don’t know if it’s wrong to love an object. It’a a good question and I’m inclined to say it’s not. Loving too many objects though… now that’s a bad idea. I love your blog! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  4. You have a lovely home. if you decide to keep this home or more of your assets in the future and want to travel, you could decide to become a traveling nurse My daughter and some of her friends do this. Of course this is only in the 50 states. In her off time she travels outside the U.S. She just got back from a two week stay in India. She stays in a job from two weeks up to one year, and takes excursions around the area. One of her friends takes off 6 weeks to travel to some exotic place to take photos and then sells them. Another is a family where they live in a travel trailer while the husband home schools their 3 children. Yet another friend has a home to use as a home base and comes back a few months each year and sometimes takes a “travel” job in their home town. This could be a way to fund your ‘ travel bug’ for much longer than the one year although sporadically.

  5. I love this post so much!
    Can you love something and then let it go when it has served its purpose? Is it not even easier to let go of something (or even someone) when you just have positive feelings about it? Often, when an object or a person are associated with mixed feelings it gets more complicated…And maybe love and attachment are two different things?
    If minimalism is a quest for freedom and simplicity, it probably helps not to hold on too many things, principles and committments. Or at least not let them become a part of who you are. Still, a house is special. I have never owned one myself but I feel so grateful to be able to return to my childhood home regularly and visit my mother. I always felt it was an anchor of stability and strength in my nomadic life. And I love to be there with the next generation, to feel this continuity….
    But I guess I could let go if there was some other place where the family could gather…

  6. I have no problem with loving a house, actually, I loved two of them. Both my grandparents had really cool houses with lots of hiding places and I have such great memories of both. If you want to keep the house, I would suggest renting a room (or two) to students or others asking them to do their fair share of household maintenance. Plus, you’d have someone watching the house whilst you’re away gallavanting all over the world!

  7. Your home is beautiful

Leave a Reply

