The Minimalist Flower Garden

I love a beautiful garden. This one is still a work in progress.
2014-05-22 06.39.18

Since my priorities have been kids and work, work and kids for many years the minimalist philosophy has served me well in the gardening realms as well. My criteria for what goes into my flower garden are aesthetics and maintenance. In plain terms, do I like it? and will this plant thrive here with minimal encouragement from me?

2014-05-22 06.39.29

So, I generally stick with perennials that are hardy in zone 5. Nothing that is going to require more than watering in a drought.

clematis climbing up the support wire

clematis climbing up the support wire

I have this little meditation area that needs some love. I think I will plant purple cone flowers behind the stone bench.

2014-05-22 06.39.49

9 responses to “The Minimalist Flower Garden

  1. I think it looks lovely. Minimal work in the garden allows you more time to sit on your bench and meditate instead of work, work, working in the garden. Enjoy the summer!

  2. I like the idea of a meditation area, which I’ll definately add to my garden once I retire and buy a bungalow!

  3. I love this meditation area! For sure, it will look beautiful with some flowers.

  4. bluelightreflections

    I love your stone walkway!

  5. I love it!

  6. Although I used to love the idea of cottage gardens with a lot going on, my taste has really changed and I’m having to persuade my husband that I now would prefer a garden with a lot less work, simpler planting and easier maintenance… I find it a lot more tranquil and don’t have to constantly be thinking “I should”! So meditate away 🙂

  7. I love to garden and dig in the dirt, I can get my exercise and let my mind wander away. This is how I love to spend my free time. I smile when I look at my garden, flowers and fruit trees. It is a lot of work, though, and not minimalist I prefer to get my exercise walking, hiking, and playing in the dirt. I realize that others do not have the time, health or inclination to have gardens. A simple yard would be a better fit in these situations.

    • I looked at it after you sent the link. It sounded great until the part about shrink-wrapping the boat to keep it warmer in winter. Brrrr.

Leave a Reply

