Back Porch Remodel

I have been working like a fiend an a project that will likely become a Christmas gift. I’ll post photos on that one when I’m done. In the meantime, here is the remodel of the back porch, which was actually done this past summer.

Here is how it used to be:

The back yard at dinner

Looking toward the back yard, through the screen and support bar.

You can see the screens (not clear in this photo that most of them were torn and not doing their job.) The screens and support bars, wrapped around to the sides of the porch, enclosing it. There use to be a screen door too, but I had removed it, years ago, as it was structurally unsound.

View of back porch from yard (facing west)

View of back porch from yard (facing west)

The screens and support bars have been removed, opening the view to the back yard. Horizontal lathe was added for privacy.

View from the porch, facing north. Lovely neighbors that way...and the air conditioner.

View from the porch, facing north. Lovely neighbors that way…and the air conditioner.

The lathe on the south side.

This sad little plant is a purple clematis, which as it matures, will climb the slats, adding beauty and privacy.

This sad little plant is a purple clematis, which as it matures, will climb the slats, adding beauty and privacy.

And I changed out the light at the back door. The old one (sorry, no photo) was original to the 1936 house.

Modern, but not clashing with the style of the house. Plus, it has some fancy movement detector, so it turns itself off until you (or one of the hundreds of squirrels in the neighborhood) approaches.

Modern, but not clashing with the style of the house. Plus, it has some fancy movement detector, so it turns itself off until you (or one of the hundreds of squirrels in the neighborhood) approaches.

What I love about this remodel is the  increased openness to the yard, and the increased privacy from the neighbors.

7 responses to “Back Porch Remodel

  1. That looks so comfy and pleasant for warm weather sittin’ out. And, sensible as you are, you realize what an attraction it will be a prospective buyer. But meanwhile, you get the enjoyment of it. I’m always so sad when a friend rushes around (when they plan to sell) doing all the little improvements that make a house more livable. I wonder why they didn’t treat themselves to those improvements.

  2. Well, ’cause they were so freakin busy with their other responsibilities. But I get what you are saying. AND, if I don’t sell in May, I will enjoy all this hard work…until I decide that I need the money. 🙂

  3. I would love a house and a backyard like yours. Have you considered taking in a boarder or a student once all the kids are out of the house? Unless, of course, you want to move to leave the city. I look forward to more photos!

    • I have considered a boarder. And there are a couple colleges here in town that might have interested students. Another advantage of staying here is that the cost of living is low in this town. Great for living on a fixed income. I may stay here. But, I’m getting ready, in case I need to sell.

  4. Fawn, this back porch remodel is lovely. I can hardly wait for the other project pictures to to posted! You do seem to have a knack for redoing home projects. May I ask how much of this did you do yourself?

  5. Looks beautiful and inviting.

Leave a Reply

