Shhh….It’s a Secret

I’ve been working very hard on a Christmas gift for my daughter. Don’t tell her what it is.

She has a chest of drawers, that has been hers since she was about 6 months old. She never liked the color, and as a child covered it with stickers. C.O.V.E.R.E.D.

For her gift, I have refinished it. I wish I had a photo for you, before the stickers came off, but I don’t. Here’s one with most of the stickers removed.

2014-10-08 15.24.23

Then I stripped it and sanded it.

2014-11-01 13.43.21

And here it is with the darker finish that beloved daughter prefers and some new hardware.

2014-11-10 15.35.42

Close up of the new drawer pulls.

2014-11-10 15.37.02

7 responses to “Shhh….It’s a Secret

  1. LOVE it! Great work!

  2. You really did a nice job.

  3. Love it! What a lovely gift for your daughter.

  4. Wow! Your daughter is going to love this gift. I have refinished furniture and know how much work went into this project. It now looks very sleek and modern.

  5. What a lot of work and a successful result!
    Does this mean one less piece of furniture in your home again LOL?!
    (I do love your “new” armchairs!)

  6. Wow. It’s so beautiful now. I’m impressed. If I were your daughter, I would feel so loved and cared about with this gift. Great job!

  7. What a terrific gift for your daughter — she will no doubt be very happy for the thought and the work that went into it!

Leave a Reply

