The Best Teacher

Last week I made the 8 hour trek north to pick up my daughter from college. After we loaded up her things, rather than heading south for home, we continued north for another four hours to a friend’s cabin which is near the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. [The Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness is a 1,090,000 acre within the Superior National Forest in northeastern Minnesota.]

We stayed at the cabin, which has electricity and heat, but no running water and enjoyed the beauty of the area. We hiked.

The trail around Bass Lake

The trail around Bass Lake

It was a 5 hour hike around Bass Lake

It was a 5 hour hike around Bass Lake

30 minute hike to these falls

30 minute hike to these falls

And we canoed.

It was a blustery day.

It was a blustery day.

And we spent a fair amount of time quiet and letting the healing power of the outdoors do it’s thing.

Here are my take away lessons from the trip, in no particular order:

~There is a point when your children outgrow you. Like Kahil Gilbran says, “Your children are arrows shot into the future.” They move forward to a place that you can not go. This is a good thing.

~For me, silence is the best teacher.

~As healing as the fresh air and walking in a pine forest can be–a warm bed and a warm toilet are things that an aging body rejoices in.

~My dwelling place must be beautiful and organized. When it is not, I get restless until I make it so.

~I like my human contact to be purposeful. If we are just going through the motions or skimming the surface, I would rather retreat into silence, my best teacher.

 

 

6 responses to “The Best Teacher

  1. Amen! The peaceful quiet of a forest or meadow, shoreline or mountain is such a healing balm for my senses and sanity. I agree about the tidiness of my surroundings. It’s wonderful you got to enjoy that time and space.

  2. Looks like you had a terrific time. I like living near water — the sight and sound relaxes me Ditto on the tidiness!

  3. Amen! I agree with everything! Admiring the children and learning from them fills my heart with joy. Life’s challenges is my best teacher. Silence is my place of solace and my guide to address these challenges. It’s easier to hear the answers in silence! 😉

  4. What a beautiful peaceful place! We are looking forward to spending time in the country with our children in July.

  5. These are beautiful pictures and your daughter seems to be growing into wonderful young woman. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

