Minimalist Decorating

We have a tendency to stop seeing things in our routine environment after awhile. This is evident in my colleague’s office spaces and the homes that I visit during my work day. There are procedure manuals that expired ten years ago and phone books from 1992 in our office. I’ve seen kitchens in themed country blue geese that I know was being marketed in the 1980s. Or roosters from the 1950s. (Surprise-roosters are back!) I prefer a simpler decorating style that gets it’s inspiration from the alcove of the Japanese tea room. tea room Refined. Just a few well chosen objects. Elements of nature. It is not intended to be permanent. There is not a throw pillow in sight. And yet, the possible variations are endless and intriguing.

4 responses to “Minimalist Decorating

  1. I had read that the Japanese rotate their decorations so that not everything they own is on display, and that it looks new when they bring it out. They so this by seasons which is something I have been doing. I have many items from my mother and grandmothers so I rotate them four times a year and am able to enjoy what I have much more. This also removes the desire to purchase more.

    • I think a lot of folks do this. My own grandmother switched out her dishes and curtains and linens from yellow ones in spring/summer to red/brown ones in fall/winter. People who buy their window cling decorations from Walgreens do the same thing….with more destruction to the environment as each season’s decorations get discarded after use.

      I think rotation of items is OK, if there is a limited number of items and the items are not harmful to the environment. Natural objects come to mind, like flowers in spring, beach shells in summer, bouquets of turning leaves in fall and pine cones and trees in winter (though I still struggle emotionally and philosophically with the holocaust of pine trees that is Christmas.)

      However, rotation of objects can be exhausting and obscene to me when I hear about persons with ceramic Christmas village collections that take weeks to set up and take down, that cost thousands of dollars (bought on sale) or plastic Easter eggs hung from an orchard of trees or non-commercial Haunted Houses that take a month to set up and take down.

      I understand the human need for novelty….I just think that nature provides it for free if we will only go outdoors and appreciate her.

  2. To each their own.

Leave a Reply

