2015 Count: 83 items

It is that time of year, my friends: The Annual Count.

2015-06-16 17.48.14

Person Care items #12: basket, toothbrush/paste/floss, conditioner, mascara, grooming scissors, nail clippers, face powder, lotion, lip balm, razor, hair paste, soap.

Misc. items #18: Back to front-shredder, laundry basket, suitcase, To-go cup, coffee pot, vase (with roses) towel, dryer, book, lap top, wallet, glasses, case and sunglasses, Christmas stocking.

Misc. items #18: Back to front-shredder, laundry basket, suitcase, To-go cup, coffee pot, vase (with roses) towel, dryer, book, lap top, wallet, glasses, case and sunglasses, Christmas stocking.

Miscellaneous items not in photo: bed, car and phone.

Clothing #53 items.

Outfits 1 & 2

Outfits 1 & 2

Outfits 3 & 4

Outfits 3 & 4

Outfits 4 & 5

Outfits 4 & 5

2015-06-16 18.04.55

Outfit 7 and the black dress/sweater outfit.

watch & earings

watch & earrings

“Holy soles, Batman! where did all these shoes come from?”

Here are three of the four sets of exercise clothes.

Here are three of the four sets of exercise clothes.

Gloves, ear warmer, basket with tights, 5 pair socks, 4 bras 5 panties

Gloves, ear warmer, basket with tights, 5 pair socks, 4 bras 5 panties

A et of painting/gardening clothes and the swimsuit.

A set of painting/gardening clothes and the swimsuit.

A fleece and a sweatshirt

A fleece and a sweatshirt

Winter coat, and there are 8 hangers in the photos as well.

Winter coat, and there are 8 hangers in the photos as well.

I need to do something about all those shoes!

14 responses to “2015 Count: 83 items

  1. Once again, Fawn, thanks for this latest “count” post. As you know, I always enjoy these and always find them inspiring.

    (When I’m thinking about buying something, I sometimes ask myself, “What would Fawn do?”)

    And, by the way, you are one of only a very few people who would believe that 8 or 9 pairs of shoes are too many. 🙂

  2. You have no idea what an inspiration you are to me. Thank you so much for your blog and your annual item count. We all could live with so much less and learn to be grateful for what we do have.

  3. I have been following your blog for some time and really enjoy it. But I particularly enjoy the count posts as they always inspire me to pare down even more. However, I have a long ,long way to go before I get to any where near as few items as you, but the journey is proving very interesting and thought provoking.

    • Gillian–that is my intent to be thought-provoking. I do not think that the goal is to have the fewest things–but to have only the things that improve the quality of our lives. For me, that is surprisingly few. When I start accumulating….it makes me….itchy.

  4. Hi Fawn,

    I’ve been a fan of yours from way back when I posted my “count” on the Simple Living Forum. You asked how it all broke down & I said it was too numerous to list! Since that time, I’ve continued to whittle away and my current count is at about 254 (down from about 650 or so). Thank you for the great notion that it really takes so little, really, to cover all our needs — and the rest tends to be clutter & energy-sucking.

  5. Love this!! Once again, so inspiring! One of these days, I’m going to count all of mine.

  6. I have been thinking about your annual count. I actually think you own less Items. I would never think of toiletries as items I own. They are supplies or consumables not lasting things. On the other hand I always want at least 7 pairs of underwear and socks. I only want to do laundry once a week to conserve resources.

    • suzie–you are correct–these items are consumables (which I usually do not count.) But I continue to count them to keep me accountable. When I first started my counting game, I had 400+ cleaning items (insert shocked emoticon here) and 7 skin care product and 4 hair care products and 8 make-up products that I used EVERY DAY! Plus a bunch of other crap that was in the closet, but not used, except for special occasions. I keep the personal care items in the count to keep me honest.

      Someday, I hope, to include my [mobile] home, and every dish in my own personal count. …until then, I keep playing the game to keep me honest about what I use/need/is mine vs. what is still in my house because the kids use it when they are home.

      • Hi again, Fawn. How did you get the idea of a count in the first place?
        And…what do you use now to replace the 400 cleaning items?

      • Sumarie–I do not remember where exactly the idea for the count came to me…It was around 1998 that I first discussed it with a friend. I was still living on the farm and dreaming of something not so complicated….
        I will do a post on cleaning and items soon.

  7. Super silly question…you listed book above. Is it a reading book or is more like a calendar/planner?

  8. It is a scrap book filled with my drawings and clipped art and quotes I have found that have meaning to me.

  9. Just want to tell you that I am awe inspired by your item count. I have more than that in clothes and have paired down some already. But I only have 6 shoes, so your count gives me hope to get my clothes items down. As for non clothes we have been downsizing, but never counted before. I love this count that you do as I am also looking at everyday items that I use and really watching for the ones I don’t use, so we can part ways. Thank you for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

