Living Room Remodel

The Living room remodel is done.  I count 9 summer items. In the fall, the fireplace screen and tools come up from the basement.

New couch and pillow

New couch and pillow

Newish red leather chairs and table. One table candle. (I don't count the books--they are consumables, i.e. I read them and pass them on. If I ever encountered a book I could not live without, I would add it to the count.)

Newish red leather chairs and table. On the table, a candle. (I don’t count the books–they are consumables, i.e. I read them and pass them on. If I ever encountered a book I could not live without, I would add it to the count.)

View of the fireplace with two fake plants and the horse head. I don't count the mirror anymore. It is wired to the house and will stay here when I move. Like the light fixtures. I don't count them either.

View of the fireplace with two fake plants and the horse head. I don’t count the mirror anymore. It is wired to the house and will stay here when I move. Like the light fixtures. I don’t count them either.

View of the living room facing  southwest.

View of the living room facing southwest.

10 responses to “Living Room Remodel

  1. Practically perfect! I would add a small area rug to pull it all together and warm it up a bit.

  2. Just right. By the way, I really like the shutters. (And, like the mirror, I don’t think that they should be included in the count.) They blend perfectly with the woodwork, they allow you to block the bottom half of the windows for privacy while letting light through the top, and their louvers can be adjusted to admit some degree of sunlight. Also, unlike curtains, they never need to be washed. (An occasional vacuuming is all that’s needed.) Nicely done.

  3. Very nice and peaceful!

  4. Very calming!
    I wondered if you have some art above the sofa (I seem to remember you own a couple of pieces)? That would be nice when you come in the door and see that nice new sofa (or even just a pretty branch hung up there, oh right, cats!!)…
    Really enjoy when you show how you live.

  5. Fawn, your living room is beautiful. I assume that your are still interested in camping and I just found some camping information at ‘TheTypicalMom’. She lists free or nearly free campsites at ‘Freecampsites.net’ and ‘Allstays.com’. Also, there is a link to Thousand Trails for a deal for 2 months of camping for $45.00.

  6. I think your living room looks fantastic! I have a question for you. What do you do about a desk? I have a great big ugly desk in my living room (no other place to put it) and have been searching for a replacement, but maybe I could get away with none at all? Do you have a printer for your computer? Where do you keep it? What about files and things? Thanks for any insight..

    • There is a 6 foot by 22″ slab of Corian countertop in my kitchen that I designed to use as a desk. It seemed minimalist at the time, but now it seems like too much. At the left side is at 13″ by 16″ by 3″ deep drawer with pencils and tape and staples. Again, it is too much. When the kids were here, it made more sense. Beneath the drawer is a file drawer also 13″ by 16 ” but 12″ deep with files in it. There is a printer on the slab to the right. Again, too much. Now, I could easily get by with a laptop and a 6″ deep file box. I am learning to save files to my computer and not print things off. All of this would fit in a small corner of the pantry or my bedroom closet. I could use the dining table as a desk.

      • This is really helpful. I think I am going to try to eliminate my desk altogether. Last question–do you have a land line and/or a modem for Internet? if so, where do you put those?

  7. The phone jack in the kitchen has been enclosed by a cabinet. The modem and a surge protector are in that cabinet. If I had a mid-height wall phone jack, I would place a floating shelf there to house these items. If you are wireless, you could put them anywhere you had a jack.

Leave a Reply

