Appropriate Décor

Long time reader Kelly, expressed that a piece of wall art that reminds one to “Live Simply” is just as valid as a landscape painting or any other pictorial representation of something that inspires us.

2015-07-13 15.00.48

She is completely correct.

[And that should end the story right there…but this is my blog…and I am an “over-thinker” or so I have been told many, many times]

If that wall “art” [sorry, I just can not drop the ” marks to call that Art] inspires/reminds you to live simply, then, “YEAH!” Go you. Continue on.

But, since it is my blog, I get to have a whiney diatribe…..

How many times in the past year have I, the hospice nurse, been in a home, whose well-decorated walls instruct me and others to “Live….Laugh……Love!?”

But as the Ecclesiastes instructs us—–there is a time and a place for everything. Including dying and crying and hate. Sometimes the Wall Art is giving us incorrect instructions. As a hospice nurse, my patients are close to dying, sometimes they cry and it is entirely appropriate. Sometimes they hate…but I always prefer it when we humans find a way to love one another.

I accept Kelly’s correction, that having the motto “Live Simply” up on the wall may inspire some of us to do so. Then, nail it up there and enjoy.

I think, if I need to put up instructional motivational words on my wall, they should be the Paul Tillich quote:

“The first duty of love is to listen.”

4 responses to “Appropriate Décor

  1. i have a hard time calling that art too. I’d like to hear more about your work hours which I think are part time and your decision to go part time and how that is working out for you budget wise and saving for retirement etc. this is a decision I’m currently grappling with. Thx!

  2. I appreciate your comments and do see your point of view. When the (a Canadian show about decorating with Steven Sabados and Chris Hyndman – who was found dead last Tuesday near his Toronto home — so very sad) were on many years ago, they redecorated a loft for a Finnish woman. The *art* Steven chose was a project he did himself. Because the walls of the loft were so high and had lots of room to play with, he stapled canvas to a square wooden frame (about 2 feet x 2 feet), painted each one a different colour (pale blue, soft green, pale yellow, coral, pink, soft orange) then cut out words in the canvas in Finnish that translated to It was absolutely beautiful and no doubt the owner enjoyed being reminded to slow down and enjoy the moment. I have their book and want to do the same for my next home.

  3. Funny that the words I put in side quotes are missing!

    The show was called Designer Guys and the words in Finnish translated to love, joy, pleace, tranquil, enjoy, etc.

Leave a Reply

