Bathroom Remodel: The Rules

I love to watch the transformations that occur to homes on the TV Channel HGTV. But I hate watching the homeowners and TV host taking a sledge-hammer to solid wood kitchen cabinets because they are “too dark” or “not modern.” Ouch!

I am planning a (almost) total gut of the upstairs bathroom for reasons that will be enumerated. But I am a Green Person. I will do this remodel as environmentally responsively as possible. And I plan to be transparent with you all about the process.

I will track and report to you:

  1. Hours worked
  2.  Materials donated to a recycling entity (Habitat for Humanity)
  3.  Expenses
  4. Materials recycled via my waste handler
  5. Trash that actually makes it to the landfill.

But first the reasons why I believe I need to gut this bathroom to sell the house.

The ugly wallpaper

The ugly wallpaper

The cheap peeling and chipped floor tiles.

The cheap peeling and chipped floor tiles.

The poorly functioning shower stall. Nobody has taken a shower here for 10 years because the water flow is poor. Even the tall kids that have to duck their heads to shower downstairs.

The poorly functioning shower stall. Nobody has taken a shower here for 10 years because the water flow is poor. Even the tall kids that have to duck their heads to shower downstairs.

I’ve started the gut. More posts to follow.

2 responses to “Bathroom Remodel: The Rules

  1. The term “dated” has come to designate a mortal sin. Seems like a rather benign word, actually. But, no, it means it must be demolished; it’s unthinkable to keep. Of course, it’s entirely unacceptable. I once looked at a house with a ‘retro’ kitchen and bathroom. All that meant was that the original cabinets and formica counters had been so well taken care of that they were still in perfect condition. I would have continued to use them without changing a thing, since I like midcentury modern anyway. And I dislike stainless steel appliances and prefer white… hopeless.

  2. I agree, the wallpaper has to go and the flooring replaced or repaired. These would lower the selling price of the home.

Leave a Reply

