The Dining Room

The new table and chairs

The new table and chairs

I was actually in the middle of redoing this room when I had my epiphany that I was spreading myself too thin, between too many (and some conflicting) goals. When I started the remodel of the dining room, my goals were to get rid of the blue walls and chairs that I had grown weary of, and to get furniture that would seat our entire family for a holiday meal.

A shot of the old blue walls and yellow curtains. I never liked those curtains. I can't imagine why I bought them.

A shot of the old blue walls and yellow curtains. I never liked those curtains. I can’t imagine why I bought them.

Sometime in the middle of the remodel (but after I had bought the furniture) it occurred to me that I wouldn’t be using this furniture but for a couple of years before I move into my RV, and likely it was not a good use of my money. That said, I like it very much. We will enjoy it until then.

I gave to Goodwill a large piece of art that I didn’t love anymore and replaced it with this movie poster promoting a movie my kids made a few years back.

Daughter in left upper and son in right lower

Daughter in left upper and son in right lower

The poster and Buddha are the only art in the room now.

This little guy was a housewarming gift from my mother who collects Asian art.

This little guy was a housewarming gift from my mother who collects Asian art.

I didn’t do anything to the corner hutch.

This is enough color in the room for me now.

This is enough color in the room for me now.

 

5 responses to “The Dining Room

  1. I would feel very relaxed to dine at your table. A restful, comfortable area. Enjoy your new table and chairs.

  2. Thanks, Linda. There are other non-relaxing areas of the house now. I will be posting about them soon.

  3. Happy remodeling. I am looking forward to the results.

  4. Fawn, you definitely have a talent for decorating. The curtains and dining set are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

