House: SOLD!

These are exciting times for this minimalist.

I listed the house, and within 48 hours had a full price offer. The home inspection has occurred and now we wait for the closing next month. Moving day will be my birthday, the day I usually do my annual count. I’ll count my stuff a couple of weeks early and post the photos like I do each year.

Here’s a few things I’m not going to count because I’m not taking them with me when I move:

The tall ladder for cleaning the gutters. The lawn mower. The rakes, the snow shovel, the digging shovel. Two of the beds. A dresser. A bookshelf.

Moving is a perfect opportunity to consider the need for every single possession.

25 responses to “House: SOLD!

  1. Congratulations!! I can’t wait to hear about your moving adventures!

  2. Congrats, Fawn! Happy for you! You’re going to have a very busy bithday this year)) Where are you going to stay after moving? (if it’s not a secret)

  3. Oh Fawn, how amazing! Congratulations! All your hard work has paid off & it has been lovely to follow along on your life’s events throughout the years you’ve had your blog. Like many others, no doubt, I feel like I know & admire you & can’t wait to hear what your next pursuits will be!

    Bravo bravo!!!

  4. Congratulations. I really enjoy reading about your adventures. Will you still be in the area. I would love to visit with you next time I’m in town.

  5. Happy to hear this! (As Susan said, all of your hard work has paid off.) But at the same time, I’m a little sad somehow. I love your house, at least in pictures, and I will miss it. On to new adventures.

    • I love his house too. But it is time for the next adventure! I am moving into a 2 bedroom apartment with my youngest son, who will be a high school senior next year. This summer I will buy and start to renovate my travel trailer. I hope to move into it full time, when the youngest son goes off to college.

  6. Also, looking forward to your annual count! Always inspiring.

  7. Congratulations! All of your hard work has paid off. Can’t wait to hear of your next adventure moving into an apartment. Your house was just too cute! I’ll miss seeing it on the blog. Looking forward to your annual count!

  8. WOW!! Congratulations on selling your house. Like everyone else has said
    all your hard work has paid off. I love your blog. It is such an inspiration and
    motivation to me to really ask the difficult questions and get rid of things that
    are not necessary. I only wish my husband was on board. He recently helped
    his father move out of his home and brought nearly everything his father owned back to our place. We have enough stuff of our own to get rid of without his father’s to deal with.

    • Ah, Meg…family member’s stuff…the absolute hardest to deal with. It’s not your responsibility, and yet you have to live with it. SIGH. The only advice I have to give is Lead by Example. Even my mother, who has been a “collector” for 80 years, is beginning to let go. She says, inspired by my example.

  9. So happy your house sold so quickly!
    Looking forward to your apartment year while you buy and start to renovate a RV.

  10. Congratulations!! That is so great! How free you must feel!

  11. Congratulations! That’s wonderful! All your hard work paid off. You totally deserve this quick sale. You can give yourself a big pad on your back 😉 i am very happy for you!

  12. I am so happy for you — all that hard work — no wonder it sold in 48 hours. All the best on your new adventures and looking forward to hearing about them. I love the idea of living in a trailer — is that a truck towing a trailer or an RV? And that about the cost a gas? Just inquiring as I thought I may do the same thing.

    • I am imagining a hybrid truck pulling a trailer that I have gutted and rebuilt to be energy efficient and light-weight. The end result may turn out different. I plan to start another blog about that adventure. I will let you all know when it starts.

  13. What a great time to start clean! Totally awesome opportunity.

  14. Well done. I’m excited for you and inspired. Can’t wait to see what’s next. You must feel light as a feather.

  15. Donna Isgriggs

    Congratulations and best wishes for your next chapter.  Thanks for sharing your journey. I love it and think about it often as I make decisions that lead me in the direction of minimalism also.

  16. Congratulations!!!! May I ask what your kids will do when they have breaks from school? Summer, winter break, thanksgiving…
    Also, I am assuming it is a given they can’t move back home after college?
    Will you ever host a holiday gathering with adult children?
    These are all things I wonder about as my youngest will leave for college in a year.

    • Ruth–Excellent questions! Here is the current plan–
      This summer–daughter is studying in Russia until mid-August. Middle son has an internship in St. Louis, where he has sublet an apartment for the summer. They may be home for a week or two in August, before school starts again. I will have who ever is home, sleep in the bedroom, and I will sleep on a pallet on the floor of the living room. If there are two college children home at the same time, one will get an air bed.
      Winter break–similar plan.
      Thanksgiving-as long as my mother lives, there is a command attendance to the feast at her home. Children who live too far away to travel to it, celebrate locally.
      Nobody wants to move back in after college. Daughter graduates next May and plans to work on her Master’s in Minnesota. If the kids were desperate, they could move back to their father’s farm. His family has lived on that plot of land for 200 years. It is their heritage.
      Hosting holiday gatherings with adult children? As long as I am in the apartment, there is room for my 8 person table–so we could gather there for a meal, though I do not have room to sleep everybody anymore.
      More long-range plans–Kids of divorce get pulled like wishbones at the holidays. I always hated that part of being divorced. That, coupled with a job that has required that I work holidays often…I do not have the sentimental attachment to being together on the 4th Thursday in November or December 25th like many people do. We celebrate when we gather. We pick the day and we define the celebration. That, combined with my personal experience of driving through terrible winter conditions on some holidays has led me to the idea that my family will gather in July around a lake. I will rent a house for 1-2 weeks and various family will come and stay when they have reprieve from their work responsibilities. It will be relaxed and fun. NOT the stressful obligation that holidays have become to many people. Of course, I can change my mind at any time. And we can do something else.

      • you’re an awesome mom! all of it sounds calm and peaceful.. I am looking forward to see the next chapter of your life!

  17. Congratulations on such a very quick sale Fawn. You certainly deserve it after all the hard work you have put into the renovations. I wish you every happiness on the next exciting step of your life’s journey. I have just come back from a weeks holiday to some bad news about a very close friend and it has put many things into a new perspective for me. It has also provided me with a fresh incentive to get rid of even more unnecessary belongings. Looking forward to your annual count.

  18. Your plans for the future sound great. I look forward to future posts. Congratulations on the quick house sale.

Leave a Reply

